EMC connection over ethernet?

More
05 Feb 2010 16:21 #1768 by halibatsuiba
Hi

Forewords: I am total beginner in CNC-world so my questions may be a little dumb.

For another project I designed a controller board that has ethernet-connection and stepper motor controllers + several digital I/Os.

For that same project, I am going to build a cnc router (to make parts) and I started wondering if it would
be possible to control cnc-machine from EMC over TCP-connection?

New PCs do not have parallel ports any more and I have had my share of add-on card mess.

I wonder if it would be possible, instead of creating stepper control signals over parallel port, send control over TCP?
In the controller board end it would be very easy to run motors based on the commands received over TCP and likewise easy to read limit switches,
encoders etc. and pass that info back to EMC.

I did search this forum and google but either this is something nobody has done or I was using wrong keywords. :blush:

-MJ-

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Feb 2010 16:49 #1770 by PCW
I would say TCPIP is not a good match for EMC because it is nowhere near real-time
Possibly with a dedicated Ethernet card on the host (or MB with two Ethernet interfaces) and UDP you might get passible performance.

I think better choices are RTNET (which uses standard Ethernet hardware) or EtherCAT (which uses standard hardware on the host but special slave hardware) Note, all Ethernet options require a dedicated Ethernet connection, so you still may need add-on cards...

More
06 Feb 2010 03:02 #1779 by Andy123
New controls with Ethernet servo drives using CIP Motion and CIP SYNC protocols are coming out (IEEE1588 based technology).
They promise sub-millisecond servo loop update time using regular Ethernet connection and even faster by using switches with QoS
It would be nice to have something similar for EMC2

More
06 Feb 2010 05:06 #1781 by PCW