Are these servo/steppers appropriate?(Fastech EZI)

More
29 Sep 2010 03:14 #4405 by 1:1
Hi,

I'm Iooking at these Korean servo stepper/drive units:

www.fastech.co.kr/English/Ezi-SERVO.html

Particularly the NEMA34 '86' series steppers - specifications below ... They can go up to 32,000P/R res which can be divided down to 500 - They also claim some impressive advantages over standard stepper drive system, or so they have led me to believe - maybe as a beginner I have been bamboozled by jargon ? :side:

I'd use them firstly in a mill/drill CNC conversion, where they may be over specced (?) - and over priced (?) - but I will end up using them in other projects also, I'm mainly concerned with what I don't know about the extra costs involved - I imagine a breakout board would be required, which might be cheap enough, but what about 40~70v power supply per axis for 4 axes ?

They'd run open loop with respect to EMC ? but closed loop internal to themselves ?

Any chestnuts of experience would be greatly appreciated - Maybe they really are a nice piece of kit ?

Kind Regards,
N

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Sep 2010 09:55 #4428 by andypugh
1:1 wrote:

www.fastech.co.kr/English/Ezi-SERVO.html
Particularly the NEMA34 '86' series steppers - specifications below ... They can go up to 32,000P/R res which can be divided down to 500

Bear in mind that 32,000 ppr at 1000 rpm is 500kHz, you won't get that out of software stepping, but can with external hardware.

- They also claim some impressive advantages over standard stepper drive system, or so they have led me to believe - maybe as a beginner I have been bamboozled by jargon