two independent X at the same time.

More
27 Oct 2010 13:20 #4899 by Gelar
i have a foam cutter that is constructed so that i have two same X's and two same Y's. no rotating table. i need to make a truncated cone, but it's impossible now because this design allows to make a cylinder only. so what's the idea: make that each X and Y was independent. but i do not know will it work if i define first plane as XY and second AB or UV (COORDINATES). will they work at the same time? cannot find anything about it in Documentation section.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Oct 2010 13:54 #4901 by BigJohnT
I think your on the right track, but I have never done that before.

www.linuxcnc.org/docview/html//common_ma...g_center.html#r1_1_1

X,Y,Z and U,V,W are linear axes and A,B,C are rotary normally.

John

More
27 Oct 2010 14:36 #4904 by andypugh
Gelar wrote:

so what's the idea: make that each X and Y was independent. but i do not know will it work if i define first plane as XY and second AB or UV (COORDINATES). will they work at the same time? cannot find anything about it in Documentation section.

Yes, that is exactly what you would expect to do.

If you change your INI file to be an XYUV machine then G-codes like G1 X1 Y2 U4 V6 should lead to coordinated movement in all axes simultaneously.

Your truncated cone should be

G1 X0 Y6 U0 V4
G2 I0 J6

But I am fairly sure that that won't work, as I don't think G2 and G3 arcs are supported in the UV plane. It might be worth a try though (with no foam loaded)

I think you will need NUM_AXES = 8 and [AXIS_0] to [AXIS_7] stanzas in the INI file (X = axis0, Y axis 1, U axis 6, V axis 7) You should be able to leave the unused ones blank. There is a development version of EMC2 which removes this fixed mapping between joints and axes, but it is a fair way from release.

In the HAL file you would l define 4 stepgens and link them as :

net x-axis axis.0.motor-pos-cmd => stepgen.0.position-cmd