E-Stop Sequence

More
10 Nov 2010 09:43 #5194 by electrosteam
E-Stop Sequence was created by electrosteam
I am new to CNC and have acquired a knee mill with stepper motors without any external E-Stop buttons.
As part of my re-commisoning, I want to add E-Stop buttons but I need to understand the sequence of events when an E-Stop occurs.

I have made an effort to discover the answers to my questions, but it alludes me.
I am sure the data is there, but where should I have looked ?

When F1 is operated to initiate E-Stop what happens to any drives then currently in motion ?
- instantaneous removal of pulsing ?
- drives ramped down to stop at the maximum allowable rate, then pulses removed ?

In the above, when does the E-Stop output via the parallel port get asserted ?
- instantaneously ?
- after the drives have stopped ?

Is an external E-Stop detected via the parallel port input treated exactly the same as an F1 operation ?

John.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Nov 2010 11:15 #5195 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Re:E-Stop Sequence
Ideally the e-stop button would kill all power to the motors independent of software, and tell the software that is what has happened.
It is not ideal to have EMC2 in the e-stop loop (That "E" is "Emergency" not "Oops")

If your E-stop reports activation to EMC2 via IO (P-Port or whatever) then the software shutdown will be equivalent to F1. However that should be a consequence of the E-Stop, not the first part of the chain. (What if the problem is that EMC2 has crashed?)

It might be best to consider what you _want_ to happen, then figure out how to get EMC2 and the rest of the system to do that. I can imagine that F1 might be controlled stop at max decel, but external E-stop would kill all power to motors and drives and also set the EMC2 E-stop input.

More
10 Nov 2010 11:32 #5196 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Re:E-Stop Sequence