Trouble installing NativeCAM

More
05 Apr 2017 23:09 #90951 by Kelvin
Hello,

First let me say I am as green as one can be, I am new to Linux and LinuxCNC.

I was able to download and create a bootable USB stick and install Debian Wheezy with LinuxCNC v2.7. I also updated LinuxCNC via the Synaptic Package Manager to v2.7.8.

In an attempt to learn about LinuxCNC and how to use it I have been watching YouTube videos, this is where I came across NativeCAM. I went to github.com and the NativeCAM readme file, Mar 14, 2017, states that...

NativeCAM is now a deb package supplied with LinuxCNC meaning it can be automatically updated after changes are published (if not released yet, it is a matter of days)

I did not see it included in either 2.7 or 2.7.8, am I missing it some how? I also did not see it listed in the Package Manager.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Apr 2017 23:41 #90954 by tommylight
NativeCam is a realy nice addition to Linuxcnc, it is already in github as a source and binaries, but Nick is working on making it an instalable deb package so it will be much easier to have it working. Last i read here it is due theese days so you can wait for the deb or you can download the existing package from github and make that work, it has all the info on how to included. You can use it as a stand alone by just double clicking on ncam.py or use it with sim configs already included to see how to use it and get to know it, or you can make it be embeded in your config. The embede and sim are nice as you can see the changes as you make them on the Axis screen.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kelvin

More
06 Apr 2017 01:55 #90958 by Kelvin
Replied by Kelvin on topic Trouble installing NativeCAM