Need some 2022 help with 2005 era PCs getting latency down

More
26 Apr 2022 14:35 - 26 Apr 2022 14:43 #241296 by Kilohertz
Hello all,

I have been playing with LinuxCNC for a few weeks now,  trying to find a PC with decent latency numbers, trying different things in GRUB and such...I am a complete newbie when it comes to Linux, well, 2 weeks of intense learning now, and find myself going around in circles. I have 10 tabs open in Firefox all relating to latency, some of them go back to 2012 and it seems are irrelevant today and some are beyond my understanding.

I am hoping someone can step in here and give me a little guidance, get me back on track to reducing the latency. I have about 8 PCs, mostly 2005-2009, anything from single core P4 to dual core, mostly 2.5-3GHz, a few AMDs, one quad core. I have 4 G RAM to move from machine to machine and have installed both 2.7.15 Wheezy and 2.8.2 Buster onto a 7200 RPM HD so I can test the machine with both OSs. In the GRUB I have isolcpus=1, poll=idle, I have tried the no IRQ balance thing but didn't see any changes, then found that was a thread from 2012. I Blacklisted the pcspkr so that is no longer an issue

I have worked through 3 machines now, tweaking best I can, I have turned off all the BIOS power saving things commonly recommended and run the latency script which runs 5 GLXgears and Jugg a Jug etc in Firefox (man I am sick of that video now, have changed to one I like better) but it only runs on 2.8.2, not Wheezy. I have manged to get the Jitter down to .5 to 2.5 uS on sDev but can't seem to get the Max Jitter below 27-35uS on any of the machines, which tells me I am missing something fundamental. I am not at all familiar with how to play with the Kernal, still learning, but thought I may try to move to 2.8 on Wheezy.

I know I am probably forgetting to tell you a lot of details but I am just heading out to work, I"ll try to add more when I get home, try again with a clear head.