Parallel Port Voltage lower with Ubuntu 10.04

More
28 Nov 2010 19:46 #5705 by Woody
Hi,

I'm moving from Mach 3 to EMC2 and have had a few issues.

1) getting a ChargePump output to Pin 14 - solved that by removing some .HAL text linking the estop pin with the ChargePump pin as solved by others - why would it do that!!??? (and still be doing that years after it was noticed?)

2) with Windows2000 and Mach3 the Charge Pump on pin 14 is a rather gittery but functional 0.3 to 5V wave form at about 10kHz BUT with the same PC and same BIOS settings and interface hardware the parallel port wave form is a perfect 10kh (no noticeable jitter at all) but 0.5V to 3.6V and so the charge pump circuit does not quite run.

Any idea why? I can't see anywhere to adjust anything related to this. Where are the Parallel port driver setting like in Windows? Sorry, I'm new to Linux...

So, frequency and waveform are perfect, just voltage level is 3.6V with Ubuntu 10.04 not 5V as with W2k, (just software changed)?

3) why does the chargePump output not stop when eStoped or power down machine? Is that a HAL setting I need to change?

All inputs from the mill to EMC2 work fine. Just outputs are lower voltage than with Windows

If I can get this fixed then I'm really looking forward to playing with EMC2. Looks very professional.

Thanks,

Woody.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Nov 2010 13:26 #5722 by andypugh
Woody wrote:

2) with Windows2000 and Mach3 the Charge Pump on pin 14 is a rather gittery but functional 0.3 to 5V wave form at about 10kHz BUT with the same PC and same BIOS settings and interface hardware the parallel port wave form is a perfect 10kh (no noticeable jitter at all) but 0.5V to 3.6V and so the charge pump circuit does not quite run..

That seems really quite bizarre. P-port voltage is purely a hardware thing, Linux/emc/windows/mach have no control over it as far as I know.