Cheap (economical) Stepper Driver Boards

More
27 Jun 2014 21:48 #48272 by emc2forme
I have several different machines running on EMC2 and one on Foamworks. I use four single axis drivers boards mounted in a diecast box for all of these - swapping from machine to machine sometimes for instance mounting my indexer on the lathe to do cylindrical engraving. This does involve much re-connection and moving kit about and even though the wiring is fairly simple it has resulted in several fatal escaping of smoke incidents at some cost. What I basically want to do is to have dedicated drivers at each bit of kit but as a hobbyist I do find this expensive in terms of driver boards. I am very happy with my collection of XP PC's with their 25 way Parallel ports and also have a collection of suitable power supplies But:
While seeking to source more economical single axis driver boards I stumbled upon 1 Axis Controller Stepper Motor Drivers TB6560 3A driver board for under £5 each. I have worked out these cannot be connected directly to the parallel port but am sure that they carry much of the circuitry and certainly the drive current element found in the more expensive driver cards. It seems to me that some simple interface device might be possible but this does pull me out of my comfort zone and certainly beyond my knowledge base.
So my question is: Has anyone worked out a simple way to interface the parallel port direction and step pins to these boards i.e. 1 Axis Controller Stepper Motor Drivers TB6560 3A
Cheers
Ken
PS it has been suggested that an arduino gismo could be used but being of advanced age I need to follow my KISS principle if I am to retain my marbles!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Jun 2014 00:25 #48277 by xylotex
Hi,

A simple break-out board (BOB) may be all you need. In ebay, search for:

New 5 Axis CNC Breakout Board For Stepper Driver Controller Mach3