Up squared board FPGA?

More
21 Jan 2019 05:09 #124507 by blazini36
I was looking into SBC's that I could get away with running LinuxCNC on as an embedded system. Problem is I need one with a little more heft for other things going on. Came across the Up squared board which Is nice because of the dual NICs for running a Mesa eth card. I noticed it also has an Altera (Intel) FPGA built in. I believe it's configured to emulate a RPI GPIO.

I'm wondering if there is any way to re-flash something like that for use with LinuxCNC. I've seen a couple of projects that reflashed a couple of different FPGA's with modified Hostmot2 firmware in LinuxCNC and Machinekit. I'm no FPGA programmer but it certainly would be nice to use the on board FPGA to drive opto's or FETs.

UP squared datasheet

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Jan 2019 09:54 #124516 by pl7i92
Replied by pl7i92 on topic Up squared board FPGA?
the action putting into this event woudt be a long way insted of using ready made stuff on low coast

More
21 Jan 2019 14:26 #124544 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Up squared board FPGA?

. I noticed it also has an Altera (Intel) FPGA built in. I believe it's configured to emulate a RPI GPIO.

Programming the FPGA to emulate a Mesa card would be really neat, but you alomost certainly can't use the Mesa VHDL as-is as that is for a different type of FPGA.

However, the board itself looks very promising, and there must be _some_ way to use the GPIO.

More
21 Jan 2019 14:36 #124545 by andypugh

. I noticed it also has an Altera (Intel) FPGA built in. I believe it's configured to emulate a RPI GPIO.

Programming the FPGA to emulate a Mesa card would be really neat, but you alomost certainly can't use the Mesa VHDL as-is as that is for a different type of FPGA.

However, the board itself looks very promising, and there must be _some_ way to use the GPIO.