Linuxcnc with Teknic SST-1500-UCX

More
14 Sep 2020 05:26 #182052 by spacemanspiffee
I picked up a used CNT Motion 900 series 3 axis router which currently runs on WinCNC. I'm not a big fan of this controller (not finding it very intuitive, and I'm having some issues with lost motion that I have read some other people had with this controller as well).

I built a small desktop mill with steppers and a Gecko g540 years ago and I run that off LinuxCNC and would like to do the same for my new big toy.

The router has three Teknic SST-1500-UCX for motion. It looks like Todd Zuercher has a setup with some similar drives running using a Mesa 7i77 and 5i25. forum.linuxcnc.org/27-driver-boards/30784-teknic-servo-drive

I'm basically looking for input on whether this would be a good match for my machine, and general wiring diagrams and setup and whatnot. I'm just getting started on figuring out what it will take to convert this machine so any and all help is appreciated. I'll be doing a lot of reading and may answer my own questions but figured it wouldn't hurt to ask.

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Sep 2020 17:39 #182249 by Todd Zuercher