using cut 3d to make prototype parts

More
08 Nov 2013 14:30 #40659 by twitchingmuffin
I am new to cnc and I am using cut3d to make prototype parts designed in inventor. I am saving them as an .stl file and so far have had no problems with the cut 3d program. however when I started trying parts using a 1/4 end mill it would double over part and remove material that was supposed to stay. I figured out typing in T2 in the midi and got it to offset an 1/8 of an inch and worked no problem. I am trying to cut a part now that the rough cut is 1/4" and the final cut is 1/8" because of the detail needed. the rough cut works great but I cannot get the final cut to go without switching between which side of path it is offset when it goes at 45 angle one direction its on one side of path then when it turns back it switchs to the other side is there a way to stop this from happening. ANY help would be appreciated

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Nov 2013 20:43 #40668 by andypugh
This sounds like a Cut3D problem, do they have a forum you can ask on?

More
08 Nov 2013 21:32 #40671 by twitchingmuffin
I will see if I can figure something out - the reason I was thinking that it wasn't cut 3d is they have a preview file that shows a simulation of the rough cut and the final cut and they both work well. Before I changed setting on linuxcnc it was doing the same thing on the rough cut it would double over the part when I changed the tooling offset it fixed it for 1/4" bit but its not working for 1/8" bit that's why im thinking its in the cnc side of it

More
09 Nov 2013 00:06 - 09 Nov 2013 00:11 #40673 by cncbasher
this is a setup configuration in cut3d problem .
perhaps you can archive your full cut3d folder and attach
and we can take a look and guide you , or ask in the cut3d forum and attach your files

also just so we can discount any problem can you also attach your tool table ( tool.tbl ) from linuxcnc