Fanuc AC Spindle and DC servos with geckos

More
08 Mar 2014 12:17 #44558 by sgsracing
I am rebuilding a DAH LIH MC3 it has a 5hp AC motor and DC servos with resolvers for the xyz axis. I will upgrade the servos to newer servos with encoders and drive them with geckos. This part is easy and I can make that work with linuxcnc. I am struggling to find information on how to interface a fanuc AC spindle with linuxcnc and their drives. Are they step and direction like a gecko? Im thinking not. Or perhaps some serial communication? Is this a simple setup having DC xyz and Fanuc AC spindle or am I getting into a mess? Im sure the answer is simple but Im struggling to find the information I need. Help is much appreciated. Thank you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Mar 2014 13:30 #44560 by cmorley
I'm no expert but AFAIR fanuc spindle motors are really just big servos.

They can use one of a number of feedback methods.

John E of Pico systems fame:
jelinux.pico-systems.com/motion.html

Probably knows the most about using fanuc motors, I'm sure he will pipe up soon.

A pic of the motor and some name plate numbers probably would help.

Chris M

More
08 Mar 2014 15:34 #44561 by emcPT

I am rebuilding a DAH LIH MC3 it has a 5hp AC motor and DC servos with resolvers for the xyz axis. I will upgrade the servos to newer servos with encoders and drive them with geckos.

Newer servos != better servos. I recommend to use the existing servos as they are already engineered to your machine and only place a new encoder on them. This will save you a large amount of money and will provide a better machine (and less work).

More
09 Mar 2014 01:09 #44573 by sgsracing