compumill 4000 retrofit

More
27 Dec 2010 18:02 #6270 by dewey525
Hello everyone,
Recently i bought a mill off ebay that was supposed to work but arrived with a bad dynapath delta 20 controller. I am looking to retrofit the machine with an emc2 controller. I am brand new to cnc, but i do have experience with plc's and some board level experience. It is equipped with 1 baldor um3015-100 servo drive and 2 servo dynamics sdfp1525-12 drives also it has a PIC interface board in the panel. Machine specs in the panel say the servos have 500L encoder lines.

I am looking for advice on how to proceed at this point. I would like to keep the servo drives and interface a configuration of mesa boards, but being new to cnc makes this intimidating at the least.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Dec 2010 18:58 #6271 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Re:compumill 4000 retrofit
The first step is to determine what type of signal the drives like. A common one is +-10vdc for velocity with encoder feedback to the control. For this type I used a Mesa 5i20, 7i33TA, 7i37TA's to control my Hardinge lathe. There are other schemes used by drives so you have to know. Pico also makes hardware that is supported by EMC but I'm not familiar with it.

If you have to purchase a PC the D510MO motherboard gives good latency and it very tiny.

John

More
27 Dec 2010 19:21 - 27 Dec 2010 22:59 #6272 by dewey525
Replied by dewey525 on topic Re:compumill 4000 retrofit
Thank you for your reply. How would i find the drive signal type? Also I am confused If applicable would I need 1- 5120, 1 - 7133ta, and 3 - 7137ta?

Ive been digging through the machine and I have found that the dynapath has a servo input board in the control. I will keep learning what I have.
Last edit: 27 Dec 2010 22:59 by dewey525.

More
28 Dec 2010 01:10 #6277 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Re:compumill 4000 retrofit