Amish machinist needs help

More
17 Feb 2013 04:59 #30205 by brex
Hello, I am helping a friend who is Amish and has his own machine shop. First I am not a machinist and do not understand G code but I am an electrical engineer and know other programming languages. My friend has many restrictions on the technology he is allowed to use which is normally judged by the local Bishop. He cannot use a a computer that can access the internet, send e-mail, play music etc. You get the picture. He can use specialized technology in his business. Since a regular Windows computer is not permitted I suggested that perhaps a Linux computer would work if it were limited to just his work needs. This guy is very smart, understands technology and how to use it in his unique Amish situation.

My friend uses a device made by RBR called the cncgcoder. Which he uses to download the file to his machine. He has a problem with it because the screen is too small and wants a bigger screen for developing his code. He has a flash drive for storage. He wants to be able to edit a g code program on an editor and save it to a flash drive and insert it into the hand held device which he can carry to the machine.

He thinks that Linux would be acceptable to his Bishop.

Any suggestions? Remember, I know little about this industry.

brex

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Feb 2013 05:53 #30206 by emcPT
Replied by emcPT on topic Amish machinist needs help
:huh:
I think if the Bishop knows about computers then he cannot use linux as well, because a PC with linux can make the same as a pc with windows (internet and so on).
So, if he takes religion very serious then he cannot use also linux. Or maybe he can and simply do not connect the PC to the internet?
But then he will not be able to configure the machine as he need to ask a lot of things ;)
This is a strange question, no?

More
17 Feb 2013 08:02 #30207 by cmorley
Replied by cmorley on topic Amish machinist needs help