Setting Z Offsets

More
21 Feb 2021 20:13 #199645 by Jmcghee
Setting Z Offsets was created by Jmcghee
Hey guys-
I’m an experienced manual machinist but 100% CNC neophyte. There’s probably an obvious answer to this, but I can’t for the life of me sort it out. I'm trying to program my Z tool offsets (3 axis mill) and am pulling my hair out. I've got 15 or so tools in holders that should handle 99% of the work I'll do. I set all the Z heights in the tool table by doing the following:
-Load the tool & MDI a T(n) M6 G43
-Selected "touch off to fixture"
-Very carefully jog down to a machined flat piece of stock and take a whisper cut
-Hit tool touch off button and leave at 0
I repeated that process for all the tools on the same flat surface. As I understand it, the Z offsets for each tool are now set relative to one another, but not in space.

Then I made a fairly simple program that uses all the tools, with all of them taking a facing cut. My process was to edgefind my origin and hit the "touch off" (not "tool touch off") button in X and Y, load the tool, jog down & take a whisper cut in Z, and "touch off" in Z. I was expecting this process to work (seems pretty straightforward) but it definitely didn't. Using the above it'll cut air, somewhere around 2" above the stock top.

I reloaded all my tools 3 separate times just to make sure I didn't make a math error, or change something inadvertently, but no luck. feel like I'm missing something simple, but can't get it. Anyone see something obvious I left out?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Feb 2021 22:15 - 22 Feb 2021 00:05 #199657 by jbraun
Replied by jbraun on topic Setting Z Offsets
Edit to this post because I didn't read the question properly. The manual for Axis (if that's being used) reads:
"Tool touch-off to fixture is relative to the ninth (G59.3) coordinate system"
linuxcnc.org/docs/2.8/html/gui/axis.html#_a_typical_session