Running config without 7i92

More
17 Aug 2022 10:13 #249944 by daiman444
I salute you. I wanted to know if it is possible to run the linuxcnc config for 7i92 without the board itself?
The goal is to edit the config and its settings on a virtual machine or on another PC, but the 7i92 config won't run without a fee.
Option 1: create a clone of the config but for lpt.
Option 2 to comment out all calls to hostmot and hm2_7i92.
But both of these options entail obvious problems when porting to a working machine: renaming pins for hm2_7i92 and so on.
I'm not good at English and most likely that's why I couldn't find a topic with similar questions by searching.
I will be glad for any useful information

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Sep 2022 10:20 #250912 by tommylight
If you want to test the gcode and check if it runs properly, then yes, just run any of the included configs in the "sim" section of the LinuxCNC config picker (the thing that opens when you start LinuxCNC).
Making a hardware sim is not very useful as the pins would need changing to simulated ones, that entails editing the hal file back and forth any time you want to test on real hardware.
It might work by pointing the ini file to different hal files, but that again is not the same as the changes made to the sim hal would have to be done in the hardware hal file.
Sorry but having a hard time finding any valid reason for running a hardware sim. You do need the hardware attached when testing changes, so .....
The following user(s) said Thank You: daiman444

More
03 Oct 2022 14:17 #253350 by daiman444
Thank you for your reply.