First time setup - 5i25/7i76

More
30 Mar 2014 04:09 #45385 by jonesturf
This is my first time setting up a mesa card and I have a couple of questions with probably a few more to come over the coming days. Any help is appreciated for this noob.

My setup - Bridgeport BOSS knee mill with stock steppers, spindle control to Hitachi VFD

I guess I should check for any firmware updates to my 5i25 first, huh? I'm also wondering about the preconfig pullup jumper. What exactly does that do and should i be concerned? The manual states 2 default configs(typo I think).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Mar 2014 05:08 #45389 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic First time setup - 5i25/7i76
Normally the only jumper options that might need to be changed are the jumpers that select the 7I76's 5V power source.
Most 7I76 installations can use cable 5V power. This is selected by setting these jumper options on the 5I25 and 7I76:

5I25 W2 UP ( 5I25 supplies 5V power on P3)

7I76 W2 LEFT (7I76 uses cable supplied 5V power)

Unless you bought the 5I25 and 7I76 separately, the 5I25 should already have
the proper firmware installed. You can verify this by looking at the label on the back
of the 5I25 card.
The following user(s) said Thank You: jonesturf

More
30 Mar 2014 05:43 #45390 by jonesturf
Ok cool. That's what I thought I just wanted to make sure. I did purchase them together but I will double check anyway.

On another note what's the smallest wire size I could use for wiring the 7i76? I have a bunch of 16 gauge but it's a little too big and the next smallest I have is like 24 gauge...or something really small. Was hoping to use what I had on hand since I have a ton leftover from removing everything but I would rather do it right the first time.

More
30 Mar 2014 12:31 #45401 by jonesturf