My first steps with LinuxCNC - comments appreciated :) Using Mesa 7i80 and 7i78

More
13 Jul 2022 22:27 #247258 by sukandar
Hello,
I’m completely new to LinuxCNC and wanted to document the initial setup of my MESA cards. As this was not completely straight-forward I hope these notes might help other beginners. Also, maybe someone can tell me what I could have done better in this process.

I got most of my guidance from watching talla83’s YouTube videos (I’m German too), however some of them were a little old and most didn’t apply to my specific setup, So while the videos were quite instructive and helped a lot, they didn’t get me all the way to a working configuration.

I had planned to buy a 7i76E. however I couldn’t find any distributor with stock, so instead I bought a 7i80DB-25 and a 7i78 daughter card. At this point I mostly wanted to get the basic 3 axes and a spindle going, plus some switches.

The initial readout of the card (mesaflash … —readhmid) showed that all pins were configured for Smart Serial and MuxedQ, so not exactly what I needed for a simple stepper configuration. The 7i80 manual said that a 7i78x4 configuration would be provided, however I couldn’t find it included in the support software ZIP. The latter also didn’t contain any .pin files to get an idea which .bit file might be appropriate. 

I’ve contacted the Mesa support about this, but also wanted to move ahead, so tried some stuff in the meantime. So I flashed a few .bit files and read them back until I found one that included a simple stepper configuration (7i80db_25_7i76x3.bit).