Any final solution for MaxNC Open Loop?

More
07 Nov 2015 05:21 #64930 by catacluj
Dear Sirs,
I found a few threads about getting the MaxNC to work with LinuxCNC but didn't find a final solution.
I'm a newbie and was able to use the mill with the DOS program but would like to move to LinuxCNC.
I installed it (2.6) on a laptop and started to read but all places I found mention Step/Direction which the MaxNC isn't.
I'm hoping if someone got it to work they would post some configutation files and a short "how-to".
I know there are certain things that depend on my specific PC (latency) but pinout, steps/inch and many other should be the same.

Help?

Also... why no shutdown button? I know this is Linux but I thought it's supposed to be for... laymen not so concerned with security as this shouldn't be ones' everyday PC. Maybe it's just me but I think it could be made friendlier :-)
Sorry if I'm going the wrong way here; like I said; I'm a newbie :-)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Nov 2015 15:06 #64950 by ArcEye
Hi

To save anyone tempted to answer having to do all the research you presumably did, perhaps you could post links to.

Something that details what MAX-NC is

The threads you found that you thought were inconclusive.

regards

More
07 Nov 2015 18:35 - 07 Nov 2015 19:25 #64956 by ArcEye
OK I found MAXNC

www.maxnc.net/product_p/maxnc15.htm

A hugely expensive mini mill, similar to a Sherline.

The price of the accessories are eye watering. $5 for a T nut, $27 for a pair of clamps, $132 for a rubber bellows set!

Open loop is just normal stepper control, so awaiting your links to previous posts.

I installed it (2.6) on a laptop and started to read but all places I found mention Step/Direction which the MaxNC isn't.

Laptop very much sub-optimal, may not work well at all.

Don't understand your assertion that a stepper powered machine does not use step and dir.