sinking or sourcing remote enable kollmorgen drive

More
13 Jan 2020 06:09 #154739 by Doug Crews
Hello all.

I would like to get some other eyes on this. I have a new build going i.e. 5i25 with 7i77 and 7i75 BOB. Its similar to the wiki example only I have Kollmorgen CD Servo drives & motors. I’m looking at pin 7 and 8 on connector C3 for 24v power and remote enable. If my understanding of sourcing & sinking is correct it looks like the enable on pin 8 needs to sink on the 7i77 output. But my 7I77 has sourcing outputs. If this true I will need to work around this issue perhaps using the 7I75 BOB and some HAL trickery. This is my first build everything is nearly all wired up on a bench setup, getting ready to run Pncconfig. I've attached a .jpg with some clips from the manual. Thanks in advance for any help.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Jan 2020 12:39 #154754 by BigJohnT
On my BP knee mill Anilam drives I just used a relay to enable the drives as they needed to be grounded to enable them.

JT

More
13 Jan 2020 13:38 #154756 by PCW
Normally you use the enable outputs on the 7I77 for drive enable. These are floating Optocoupler outputs so can work for sourcing or sinking.

So

Drive pin 8 --> P5 ENAN+ --> P5 ENAN- --> 24VRTN

More
14 Jan 2020 05:02 #154803 by Doug Crews

More
09 Mar 2020 00:50 #159546 by Doug Crews
Hello all,