Sense checking my plan for 'moving' from Mach3.

More
17 Apr 2022 11:03 #240456 by jimmyhorns
Hi - thanks for taking a look at this.

I'm moderately new to the world of CNC. I have been 3D printing for a while, I built a mpcnc a few years ago which works off marlin and an arduino mega, and have a gbrl mini mill that I use for making milled prototype PCBs.

I have just bought a nearly new chinese 6040 desktop CNC mill. It comes with an old tower PC running windows XP and what is almost certainly a knock off version of Mach3. It is a parallel port interface unit to control the 3 axis of movement and also a VFD for the spindle. I havent opened up the control unit yet to look at what control board is fitted.

I have not used Mach3 before, but rather than learn something that I dont think I will want to stick with I would like to move over to LinuxCNC. 

I wanted to sense check the process with you kind people before I end up getting myself tied up in knots. I have some experience with linux from a few years ago and am competent with running it on raspberry pi's, but this is a little different.

I am planning in the first instance to run linuxcnc on an old lenovo T42 Thinkpad I have (because it has a parallel port). If this is a bad idea please let me know now :)

I think I need to:

1) download a specific RTOS kernel version of debian that is suitable for the x686 processor line (so 32 bit). Is there a link to this in the downloads section as I couldn't see it specifically only the prebuilt 64 bit versions.

2) install from the linuxcnc image via a USB stick. I can get the T42 to boot from the stick I have into the linuxcnc installer, but I only have the 64 bit version so havent got past this point.

3) configure linuxcnc to run using the settings for running the 6040 that are already in Mach3. I read somewhere in one of my searches that there is an export tool for converting settings on Mach 3, is this correct.