Trying to install EMC2 on Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwh

More
15 Jan 2011 18:15 #6711 by GTISam
I'm trying to install EMC2 on Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal. Since I'm a beginner with Linux and don't have any programming experience the problem could be something small that I have missed.

I used git to download the source code to the emc2-dev directory. It would take about 5hrs to download the .iso file so that is simply not an option for me. Also, I assumed since there was no pre-compiled links for Natty Narwhal I would have to compile the source code myself??? I then followed the steps as described in wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/emcinfo.pl?Ins..._the_source_with_git

"sudo apt-get install git-core gitk git-gui"
"git clone git://git.linuxcnc.org/git/emc2.git emc2-dev"

Then I accidentally skipped a step and changed dir to src before typing:
"git branch --track v2.4_branch origin/v2.4_branch"
"git checkout v2.4_branch"
I didn't think this would make a difference.

Typing ./autogen.sh produces an error ./autogen.sh: "./autogen.sh: line 6: autoconf: command not found" . I looked in the autoconf.sh file and line 6 looks like this: "*:configure:*) autoconf; touch configure ;;" I tried to find the autoconf file, but there is noting like that in the directory.

What should I do? Did I follow an incorrect procedure or was a file corrupted during download?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Jan 2011 19:53 - 15 Jan 2011 19:53 #6713 by BigJohnT
Well I'd say you missed something huge... if you didn't build the RTAI kernal for your distro it will never work unless you just want to install the sim.

If your kinda new to linux I recommend the liveCD even if it take 5 hrs to download just use wget so you can resume the download.

www.linuxcnc.org/docview/html/common_Getting_EMC.html#r3_2

Otherwise your in for a long time to get this to work

wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/emcinfo.pl?Ins...inux_to_compile_emc2

John
Last edit: 15 Jan 2011 19:53 by BigJohnT.