PathPilot on a Novakon, Upgrade to Version 2.1.5 - Tool Table Issues.- SOLVED???

More
21 Apr 2020 15:54 #164975 by billyjack
As indicated above, I'm haveng difficulties with this latest upgrade. I switched from Mach to Pathpilot on my Novakon Torus Pro a while back and ran the system for months without a hitch. Great software. However, I recently switched to a later version PP 2.1.5 and cannot keep the tool table populated. Using the procedure published by Tormach, I backed up my system and reloaded after the upgrade but my tool table will not stay populated once I power down and re-start. I have manually loaded some values in the TT (offsets) and they too are lost where cycling the system.
Any ideas??
Why would the new software eliminate the table when starting up??
Any help will be appreciated.
I'm just getting into Linuxcnc so I'm quite lost.
Bill

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Apr 2020 10:38 #165207 by smgvbest
Check the path pilot log in ~/gcode and look for tool.tbl I believe. ( typing on my iPhone at the moment from memory)
I suspect a file permissions problem that you can read it but not write it

The tool table is in ~/router/tool.tbl Again from memory

do
sudo chmod 750 ~/router/tool.tbl
sudo chown operator ~/router/tool.tbl

Those should fix issue if it’s related to permissions

More
23 Apr 2020 13:13 #165259 by Steve303
I believe it is in operator/mill_data/tool.tbl

More
04 May 2020 15:02 #166625 by billyjack
Thanks for the information. I can't believe this problem is my machine only.