PlasmaC Guide Voltage Divider Question for Mesa THCAD-10

More
23 Apr 2020 15:28 - 23 Apr 2020 15:28 #165268 by dvn4life1972
Hello everyone. New to the forum and absolutely new to building any sort of CNC machine. I'm a welder and fabricator by trade, so the actual build portion has gone relatively easy, but the electronics aren't (and I fully acknowledge my ignorance there).

My question is this: in the PlasmaC guide it states that typically for voltage dividing purposes, just run a 1 megOhm resistor from raw arc + to ve+ on THCAD-10 board, and the same for the - side. Mathematically doesn't that only reduce the input voltage by half (max raw voltage 210 per PlasmaC guide/2 = 105V)? I see all over the place where it is stated that this will not harm the THCAD-10, but will it work for the THC?

For background info the plasma I'm using is a Hypertherm 1000 g3, which has no voltage divider native to the machine.

Many thanks for the wealth of knowledge on the forum here. This is the first of many questions I will have, as Linuxcnc has me baffled...but I need to get everything ready to plug in first.

Pat
Last edit: 23 Apr 2020 15:28 by dvn4life1972. Reason: Typo'd

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Apr 2020 15:57 #165269 by tommylight
Welcome.
To be blunt, make it work and do not worry about those things, all in good time.
As for the math regarding THCAD, even i leave that to the master who goes by the nic PCW who is the owner of Mesa, He is by far the most helping person on earth and he is around here a lot.
As you may have noticed from reading this forum, we have built many plasma machines, especially in the last two years, but as usual, most of those who get the machine working do not bother to come back here and show what they are doing with it, but some do.