5x10 Home built Plasma CNC - in progress - Mesa 7I96, THCAD

More
20 Dec 2021 20:36 - 20 Dec 2021 20:39 #229569 by aninchlow
Hello. I live in Alberta, Canada and I decided to start building a Plasma CNC. I'm fortunate to have a 12 x 40 mill, a 14x48 lathe, all the welding processes (Miller) and a complete shop to build this in. I'm a electrician by trade and a hobby machinist. I thought it would be a cool project to build a DIY plasma machine. I've been fabricating stuff forever and thought it would be really nice to be able to plunk a 4x8 peice of material down and burn away. I'd like to build and sell stuff, but I'm so so sick of grinding.

So instead of starting small I just went big. I figured what the hell why not. I've red about a million posts and figured sometimes you just have to start to get somewhere. The one fella RobW has some great posts and watching his machine was really cool. I've decided to go with a water table and I want a clean easy to use system once its built. If that adds a bit of complexity well I guess it does.

Here is the list of what I bought to get started:

7I96 STEP/IO Step & dir plus I/O daughtercard
THCAD-5 High isolation A-D accessory
Everlast 82i CNC Kit

I got the following off AliExpress (bit of a pain but I had time while I built the rough table)
60T pulley
20T pulley
Belts
Rack
Spur Gear
Z Axis Linear Rail Combo
30mm X/Y Axis Linear Rail w Rail

I plan to use GreenCut coolant additive in my tank. I plan to use a tank like this UFA FARM 150 Gallon Tank to store the coolant / water when I'm not using the table, I will also have the pump running to flood the table, with a high water drain so I don't have to bladders or anything like that. Pump on = fills table and circulates to the high point drain. Pump off, and pull the big dump valve, tank empties into the storage tank.

My Steel came from Varsteel