virtual methods in hal components ????

More
29 Jun 2023 22:37 #274475 by smc.collins
so I have been working on my toolchanger plans, and I have a pretty deep logic flow mapped out, I am curious about the limitations of hal component C code and virtual methods before I move to my next phase of code planning.

also are there any good example of virtual methods classes etc I can look at ? 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Jun 2023 08:51 #274492 by rmu
There are no virtual methods in C.

If you need runtime polymorphism in C, what is usually done is to use function pointers in structs. Without help from macros, that quickly becomes ugly.

More
30 Jun 2023 14:06 #274511 by smc.collins
I'm not a expert in c, so this is good info.

I'll look into that thanks

More
30 Jun 2023 14:47 #274515 by andypugh

If you need runtime polymorphism in C, what is usually done is to use function pointers in structs.

An example of this sort of thing can be seen in the Hostmot2 HAL driver where the "llio" part of the struct can point to hm2_pci, hm2_eth, hm2_spi, hm2_7i43 or hm2_7i90 low-level driver depending on the card type. 
(And, even more interestingly, I think that you can choose between hm2_spi and hm2_rpspi on the RPi according to which works better.) 

All of the Hostmot2 driver is realtime code, and it is quite a good example of coding, as it has been easy to expand to support new features, functions and even hardware interfaces within the originally-designed structure. 

More
06 Jul 2023 16:36 #274899 by smc.collins
yeah, I'm working on the routines i want to call. breaking it into move linear, move rotary, I might integrate carousel i to it " that's conversation for another day" , and I'm working through the various mechanisms that are in common use that i can examine.

it's going to be a really complex component for sure. my first draft is going into my hurco slv40 in a few weeks, but I'm trying to make it extensible.