Bridgeport Interact Refit

More
21 Sep 2015 09:37 #62828 by csbrady
I decided to take the plunge and refit my mill with a linuxCNC controller. I am new to the world of machine control but have good electronics and Linux background. I will be replacing a Heidenhain TNC 151A. I have many questions but at this point I am looking for a sanity check for my general plan.

I am planning to use Mesa 5i25/7i77 boards. To simplify the process I plan to retain the existing, servos, motors and encoders (all working). I also plan leave the ladder logic implemented with a collection of relays in place replacing only the TNC controller. I will put the new controller in the pendant where the TNC now resides to simplify wiring. I plan to keep the original start,stop, Estop buttons, handwheel and jog controls. I plan to add potentiometers for the feed and spindle override.

My encoders are ERO 115's that have 11um sine wave outputs. I am planning to use EXE 602 interpolation boxes to convert the signals to digital.

For the user interface I am planning to use a 15" touch screen and hopefully I will not need a mouse or keyboard. However, I am not sure if everything can be done with a touch screen.

Is my plan sound? What am I missing? Are there surprises waiting for me? I don't know what I don't know.

Comments and suggestions would be appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Sep 2015 16:05 #62830 by cncbasher
Replied by cncbasher on topic Bridgeport Interact Refit
overall , thats exactly the way i would do it . speak with mesa they have a resolver card , you may find a better option is the 5i20 with servo and resolver addon's
it's been a while since i did a bridgeport , and thats what i used at that time , but that was before the 5i25 , you may find the 6 and 8 series fit too

if you go to JT'S web site he has all the files implemented for a bridgeport

gnipsel.com/shop/machine-shop.xhtml