SWI Sport B3 with ProtoTRAK M3, Looking To Convert

More
15 Jun 2016 18:07 - 15 Jun 2016 18:34 #76116 by KroniK
Hello Everyone,

So I have an SWI Sport B3 mill with a ProtoTRAK M3 control system currently on it. I understand that it uses AC powered encoded servos for all 3 axis.

I would like to convert away from the ProtoTRAK because I have had to repair it once... and that was a very expensive nightmare. In my spare time I am a Linux Server Admin, so I figured I'd try switching to LinuxCNC since It has a great community and would provide me with a much more advanced control than what I currently have.

EDIT:

Ok so I was asking about how to drive the motors but I think I have found the current thread about these Proto Trak M3 systems here:
forum.linuxcnc.org/forum/38-general-linu...with-mesa-7i92-7i85s

Hopefully I can get to where they are and start asking questions from there. We will see how this all goes.
Last edit: 15 Jun 2016 18:34 by KroniK.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Jun 2016 11:21 #76147 by andypugh
That thread looks like a good starting point.
Let us know how it goes, and feel free to ask any questions.

More
19 Jun 2016 03:10 #76274 by jmelson
You could also do this with the Pico Systems PWM servo system, assuming the encoders or motors provide commutation information ("Hall signals") for the motors.

We have a PWM controller and brushless PWM servo amplifiers.

Jon

More
20 Jun 2016 06:30 - 20 Jun 2016 06:32 #76299 by KroniK
It was determined in this thread that the servos are ran by differential PWM in locked antiphase mode (50% = 0 drive). I'll let you be the judge if your drivers are able to drive such a servo.

I'm not sure about testing a different driver since another user has successfully been able to get a mesa driver to work, and replication is far easier than attempting to set something up from scratch.
Last edit: 20 Jun 2016 06:32 by KroniK.

More
20 Jun 2016 16:28 #76322 by jmelson