Converting from ESS+Mach4 to LinuxCNC

More
14 Oct 2016 21:54 #81656 by jackm
This is my first post on this forum since I am new to CNC machining and I was looking for some help on a project that I am doing for one of my professors. I am a 4th year mechanical engineering student and a Computer Science minor at UVa. We have a ShopBot CNC router that my professor ripped the brain out of and replaced with a Mach9 Ethernet SmoothStepper and a PC running Windows 7 and Mach4. The machine will often freeze about 20-30 minutes into a cutting operation requiring re-starting the software and re-setting the origin. Also, when manually jogging the bit around to various coordinates the CNC machine will occasionally become unresponsive to the commands given to it by Mach 4. MY professor has determined that Windows is the problem and has tasked me with coming up with a Linux alternative to the control system. The simplest conversion to LinuxCNC, I think, would be to use some sort of parallel interface to control the stepper motor drivers from the PC running LinuxCNC.

The complicated part is that he does not like the idea of the real time control of the stepper motor drivers coming from a PC. In his opinion, that sort of real-time operation should be done on a dedicated piece of hardware (like the ESS) that is not encumbered by having to run a desktop operating system. It seems to me that there are 3 possible solutions to this problem:

1) Bypass the real-time control functionality of LinuxCNC and find a way for it to communicate with the existing ESS board, either by writing my own driver or some other driver developed by someone else.

2) Some other control board which mimics the functionality of the ESS but still will run the real-time control (instead of letting LinuxCNC do it).

3) Coming up with a persuasive, detailed argument about how running the real time control from a PC will be equally reliable.