Retrofitting a 1986 Maho MH400E

More
17 Jul 2017 10:35 - 18 Jan 2021 17:47 #95877 by RotarySMP
EDIT:
Here is a summary of this project...

Hi All,
I'm an aircraft maintenance engineer living in Vienna. I purchased a 1986 MAHO MH400E which came out of a school (HWK Passau).
It is in excellent mechanical condition, but currently not functioning. The seller powered it up, but only the monitor came up with snow, with no input signal. The Phillips didn't appear to power up. The Hydraulic start button did nothing.

Before I power it up again and start troubleshooting the existing control system to get it running, I have ordered new electrolytic capacitors for the Indramat 3TRM2 DC drives and for the Phillips 432/10 PSU module.

Since this early model 432/10 with 8088 CPU only supports 2.5D milling, I am also starting to plan a retrofit with LinuxCNC and MESA 5i25 / 7i77 / 7ixx cards. I have the original wiring diagram and am working through system by system, figuring out how to interface the existing Indramat drives, the existing Heidenhain EXE card, and the MAHO 28A1 relay board on the door. I have a little experience with LinuxCNC on stepper based minilathe conversion. This is a whole other level of project.

I'm planning on using Gmoccapy on a touch screen, but would like to add physical buttons around the lower and RH sides for the soft keys, sort of like a modern Heidenhain controller.

My questions: