Stepper and Encoder noobie question

More
11 May 2018 19:04 #110586 by KcChris
First, I'm new to the forms and not sure this is in the correct thread.

My question is, I've read a lot on the setup of stepper with encoders. I have a working mill with steppers.
I understand that with the encoder, you can make up or see missed steps.

Is that it? or can you "tune" the stepper like you can a servo?

I know on servo motors ( large CNC machines ) you can tune for servo mismatch.

I have encoders but not sure it's worth the time to put it on the machine. Just trying to get a better understanding.

Thank you!
Chris

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 May 2018 21:23 #110587 by Mike_Eitel
Hi Chris
When a stepper ist missing steps ( because it can not follow the commanded steps caused by overload) it normaly stalls.
So it's a black and white, go/nogo situation. As long as you stay in the physical given conditions a stepper is digitaly precise.

Servos are different. They are driven based on slippage principle. There you have always a definened error that is corrected by a regulating device. For this you need feedback = encoders. In principle you will never be as precise as with a stepper, but can spare a lot of energie.

Stepper always go full throttle, servos are more economic but have to hide their error.

Every stepper motor can be run in slippage (servo) mode when according driver is used. Closed loop steppers are such a chimeira.

m5c Mike

More
11 May 2018 21:34 #110588 by rodw
A properly designed and configured stepper system should never loose steps. If you have enough load to cause the machine to miss steps, the motor's power is maxed out so it is unable to catch up the missing steps anyway. So the whole concept of closed loop stepper control is pretty useless. My vote is not to bother with adding your encoders.

More
11 May 2018 21:47 #110589 by KcChris