× Forum Header

step configure wizard

More
20 Nov 2009 19:47 #1162 by ZARF
step configure wizard was created by ZARF
Please tell me how to make custom INI and HAL files using the AXIS GUI so that I can go in and change things in the Step Configure Wizard without all the loss of my previous work?
Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Nov 2009 21:05 #1163 by cmorley
Replied by cmorley on topic Re:step configure wizard
You cannot make changes in the INI file without Stepconf overwriting them.
You can add HAL commands that stepconf will not overwrite by putting them in a file called 'custom.hal'
What kind of changes in the INI are you talking about?

Chris M

More
21 Nov 2009 13:07 #1170 by BigJohnT

More
30 Nov 2009 19:52 #1219 by ZARF
Replied by ZARF on topic Re:step configure wizard
I want to Thank everyone for all their help. Sorry for taking so long in getting back. The lathe that I am building is from scratch and I have no background with the CNC lathe or its needed functions. So as I build this up, my needs come one at a time, so as an example when I set up the step.config with the Gecko drives and then ran the axises they were rotating reverse of the command. So I had to go in and invert the direction bits which corrected the problem. But as you know, it changed the following lines of code that I need to maintain in the INI file (this is really not too inconvenient because of two lines of code but the HAL file starts to have alot of personal changes that I have to key in from saved copies). In the INI file, I simply type under [Display] Lathe=1 and under [Trajectory] No_ Force _Homing=1. But once again, because I have a second parallel port and have assigned different pins for extra functions, I lose that information and I can' t tell you how many times I have put the letter "o" in for the number "0", which is a pesky problem for me. I should go get my eyes checked! Or they should move those two keys further apart!