× Forum Header

Newbie Help Please

More
18 Mar 2012 12:56 #18641 by betch23
Newbie Help Please was created by betch23
Hello Everyone,

I am new to CNC and would consider myself am ultra Newbie. I am configuring my x y z axis and need some assistance.

Questions:
1. Is the home location, the 0 point on each axis?
2. If my tables cutting surface is x - 51", y-29", z-2.5"
then would I put the travel as 0 to 51 for the X? or would I put -25.5 to 25.5 for the X?
3. How do you set soft anf hard limits? Is there a tutorial somewhere?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. If you are locate in South FL, please don't hesitate to reach out where I would be glad to exchange my Computer Technology Knowledge for CNC assistance. Thanks in Advance!

Rob. rrbetcher at yahoo dot con

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Mar 2012 13:14 - 18 Mar 2012 13:23 #18642 by cncbasher
Replied by cncbasher on topic Re:Newbie Help Please
i presume this is a mill ...
it's usual to have the 0.0 x y home location at say the left front corner of your table and + ( positive directions would then be from left to right on the x axis and front to back on the Y axis ) easy way is to look from the perspective of the quill
this means that the table moves left and forward to increase , the z axis is usualy located at 0 home being the top of the retracted height , as z axis is usualy set in work being the top surface of the material being cut , therefore all z depths being negative values
once set .

soft limits are set in the INI file , using stepconf will help to set everything up , if you have not already used it , their is also a help menu showing some diagrams
Last edit: 18 Mar 2012 13:23 by cncbasher.

More
18 Mar 2012 14:15 #18643 by betch23
Replied by betch23 on topic Re:Newbie Help Please
Thank you for the quick response. So, where would I find the .ini file?