× Forum Header

Holding a pin on?

More
12 Jan 2019 19:35 #124039 by Matthew_Jones
My machine is a HY-TB5 5 axis Chinese machine that come ready with Mach 3 instruction for setup. There was another post somewhere on the forums but no one gave a complete setup.
I have been running it on Mach for 2 years almost, so everything is functional.

I have went through and tried the MACH.xml converter but it seemed to have the wrong settings especially in the motor settings so I did a custom. When the motor was set I do not get action from the motor but the motor audibly engages and the breakout board with its on board readout is getting the signal.

The best I can tell I have relay on the stepper driver that needs to be engaged so the power can get through. This requires a 5 volt input on pin 14 of the parallel port. Mach 3 had setting for it PORT1 Pin14 high. When it came time to mill it just came on, then went off after the code ran.

I tried this:
net relay-enable.power-on => parport.0.pin-14-out
In my Custom.hal. No resolve, but it looks like that just tells the pin its an OUT.

How do I tell it to turn the pin on and keep it on?? Still to new to all this to quite understand the docs but I am not sure that I even found what I was looking for.

Thanks
Matt

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Jan 2019 21:07 - 12 Jan 2019 21:08 #124043 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Holding a pin on?
That statement links (wires) the "relay-enable.power-on" signal
to the pin "parport.0.pin-14-out" so "parport.0.pin-14-out"
will follow the state of "relay-enable.power-on"

For this to be of any use, some other pin must drive the signal "relay-enable.power-on"

Note that signal names (like "relay-enable.power-on") are arbitrary, they have no intrinsic meaning so "relay-enable.power-on" could be replaced with "Blue_White_Wire" everywhere in the hal file(s) and the operation would be unchanged.
Last edit: 12 Jan 2019 21:08 by PCW.

More