× Forum Header

Confused by reversed axis direction vs. homing

More
05 Jan 2011 23:54 - 06 Jan 2011 05:08 #6458 by munki
Not sure if this is the right place, but since I'm attempting to use the stepconf wizard to get this all set up, I figured I should start here.

The preamble: I'm very new to CNC stuff in general. This is my first mill. I apologize in advance if I get any terminology mixed up, as I likely will...also, sorry if I get wordy. I'm a sucker for details, not all of them worthwhile.

The installation: It's based on a design called the Brute II and I got the plans from some guy who's website I seem to have lost in the shuffle. The plans were good, the mill seems solid and logical enough. I left the horizontal axes longer than they were designed, by quite a bit, and turned the z axis around backwards for clearance, but that's neither here nor there. I'm pleased with the construction. It's a setup wherein the z-axis just moves up and down and the x- and y-axes move about underneath it, so that the workpiece is what moves instead of the spindle. For the control hardware, I'm using a fet-3 roadster from stepperworld. For software, I'm running the version of emc2 that comes on the 8.04 livecd. I would be using the more recent 10.x version, but to make a long story short, it wouldn't take on my computer and I was forced to go back to 8. The computer itself is just an old desktop with a P4 of some sort.

The lead-in: Because my table moves under the spindle, rather than the spindle moving across the table, I have to reverse the direction on my x- and y-axes. Looking at the mill from the "front," when the table is in the far right corner, the spindle is at 0,0. When the table is at the near left corner, the spindle is at 12,12. I put home switches on each axis such that they are depressed when the table is moved to the 0,0 position, meaning the y-home switch is at the far end of that axis, and the x-home switch is at the far right of that axis.