Nvidia driver question?

More
24 Feb 2010 14:50 - 24 Feb 2010 14:51 #2044 by Davenc
On the latest Live-CD compile are the Nvidia drivers already in the build or do they have to be added? I'm new to Linux and Ubuntu. I'm planning on adding a video card tonight since my MB has one build in with the system RAM and just wanted to know what to expect as far as installation goes. I've read most of the tutorials but nothing pertaining to the Live-CD compile and Nvidia drivers.

Thanks
Last edit: 24 Feb 2010 14:51 by Davenc.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Feb 2010 16:50 #2046 by acemi
Replied by acemi on topic Re:Nvidia driver question?
There is an open source Nvidia driver (named as "nv") which is packaged with Xorg. No need to the closed source proprietary Nvidia driver.
Therefore don't worry about it

More
24 Feb 2010 22:56 #2049 by Davenc
Replied by Davenc on topic Re:Nvidia driver question?
Thanks, unfortunately I believe I got the wrong video card that isn't supported. The card is supported but not in a regular PCI slot. I didn't see the fine print about not supporting regular PCI grahic cards. The card works but provides only 800 by 600 resolution and it doesn't show up in the hardware mode. I should have gotten the PCIe version of the card so it looks like another search on newegg for a low profile video card.

More
25 Feb 2010 08:10 #2054 by acemi
Replied by acemi on topic Re:Nvidia driver question?
X (Desktop) configuration can be changed from /etc/X/xorg.conf file.
X log can be viewed from /var/log/Xorg.0.log

You can edit the /etc/X/xorg.conf file to solve the resolution problem.
Add the frequency info for your monitor in "Monitor" section. For example:
HorizSync 30-70
VertRefresh 56-80

And the resolution info in "Screen" section:
SubSection "Display"
Modes "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600"
EndSubSection

More
03 Mar 2010 23:17 - 03 Mar 2010 23:34 #2173 by Davenc