Recommended PC configuration: CPU and Motherboard (Q1 2020)

More
19 Feb 2020 00:26 #157787 by piter
Hi all,

As you can see from my very poor post count, I am new to this community and, as it tends to happen to most of the new users, I am overwhelmed by something that, to some of you, might sound trivial. I have been looking around on this forum and other sources, but I still didn't find a satisfactory answer to this question:

What hardware configuration on the pc side would make a good (or very good, even perfect) match for LinuxCNC?

I know, it's broad and rather vague question, so I'll try to expand a bit.
I am at the very beginning of my quest: converting my Mach3 based setup to fully featured LinuxCNC system.

Being at the very beginning means that I do not own any HW I want to integrate and, alack, I have little experience to back me up in deciding where to direct my first steps.

From the very basics: CPU and MoBo.
As I mentioned earlier, I do not have any HW waiting to be used, neither am I emotionally attached to any specific manufacturer.
I will add, I have some budget (so no need to go for the very cheapest solution, unless it turned out to be the most effective), and I don't need the electronics to be overly compact (no need for ITX)
I would just like to start my build with something that won't turn out to be underdimensioned/outdated soon along the path.

One note that might be relevant: I am planning to run my 3 axis machine (3 masters, 4 slaves) in a closed loop configuration.
Two axes need to run on servos, the third could be also stepper (doesn't move much and, when it does, it's rather slow).

So given this scattered set of information, what would CPU+Motherboard would you recommend?

Pietro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Feb 2020 01:19 #157799 by BeagleBrainz
That would depend on if you are using the Parallel Port or the Fantastic Mesa gear and whether you want PCI\PCIe or Ethernet Mesa.