All in One project

More
20 May 2021 14:10 #209649 by Cncninja
All in One project was created by Cncninja
Hey everyone I've been building and making CNC stuff for the last 20 years. And have come full circle from hobby to business back to hobby. I own a manufacturing shop in Phx and lived and worked in Hongkong/China for the past 10 years so I have access to some real great manufacturing sources. Ive designed and made a very special machine that will be going into small production. Im at the stage of control currently using a DDCSV 3.1, I've used Mach3, Acorn, and Grblhal 32bit with a teensy @600hz. One of my first real CNC machines was a Tormach 1100S3 with path pilot, it is still my preferred controller even over my Haas. The Market is filling up with “offline controllers” such as the DDCSV, SMC5-5. Etc ive even made a few reviews on my youtube channel (CNCninja). After running, configuring, testing almost every controller out there like Linuxcnc the best for interaction and motion planning. But Linux and HAL configuration puts a lot of people off. So to the point, Im wanting to build a Small enclosed all in one with 10.1 touch screen Linuxcnc controller. If your not familiar with the DDCSV or SMC5-5 please have a google, Imagine this but running Linuxcnc. So the Idea would be a carrier main board similar to an SKR or Ramps but uses a plug-in RPi 4 Compute module. This is where I need recommendations. The RPi CM would interact over SPI to a step gen that will be on the carrier mainboard. The options so far is an LPC1768 using Remora firmware, an ESP32 Using Deotti-cl Firmware but direct SPI not using the ethernet, The TeensyHal32, and last the Mesa 7i90HD over SPI this option would not be a onboard solution but a plug in carrier.

The mainboard would have standard breakouts for the CM 4 but using a 10 inch touch screen and MPG wheel, there would be outputs for 4 Axis and I/O the board would naturally include opto and power reg.