What computer to buy

More
01 Feb 2022 15:28 - 01 Feb 2022 15:29 #233714 by Jigger
What computer to buy was created by Jigger
Hey Guys!

I am new to this forum, as i finally want to make the leap to Linux cnc.

Five years ago i have been building a small BT30 epoxy granite cnc (weighs in at some 500lbs). using 25mm linear rails and 20mm ballscrews. Been running it successfully with steppers on mach3 ever since. This year i want to convert it to servos and glass scales and implement a 12 tool ATC, so i am starting sourcing all the parts right now.

From a bunch of other guys working with linux cncc i know they use e.g. the Asrock J3455B-ITX as a mainboard, however this is not available any more. I am looking into getting a board with a similar form factor that has decent latency (need that for using the glass scale in a closed loop). Could you recommend me any board?

I am totally new to linux and linux cnc, so i really have no clue when it comes to choosing the right board.

BR
Andy
Last edit: 01 Feb 2022 15:29 by Jigger.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Feb 2022 23:04 #233757 by my1987toyota
Replied by my1987toyota on topic What computer to buy
I don't know of a specific mother board however I highly recommend the Dell Optiplex 9020 Small Form Factor. You could always
take the guts out of one of them and slap in a SSD and run 8 gigs of ram. If you want something smaller you could always
use the 9020 micro . The processor is slightly slower but it uses mostly the same computer parts. I am sure their will be
others that will chime in. Best of luck with your project.

More
01 Feb 2022 23:16 #233759 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic What computer to buy
Just got a Dell 9020 USFF a few days back, 80 Euro delivered with 4GB of RAM and a 500GB HDD, installed LinuxCNC with Mint 19.3, from a short test seems fine.
The following user(s) said Thank You: seuchato, my1987toyota

More
06 Feb 2022 20:10 #234166 by my1987toyota