Support structure and upgrades

More
21 Aug 2022 21:56 #250165 by TglEMC
I am relatively new to LinuxCNC, only a few years under my belt, but I am an old worn out hat when it comes to systems, networks, applications and development, just not for Linux. I have a high level of respect for what you all have accomplished in opensource Linux over the over the last 30 years.

I need to have a better understanding of your support structure. I have recently debugged a problem with my Debian 9 stretch system that causes the installation to crash within a couple of days. I am well aware that this installation is no longer supported but I have not been able to find a good replacement. That is not the purpose of this thread.

Refer to my Debian thread:  forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=152665

Perhaps I should have opened this here. I seem to be getting pushback from Debian support saying this is not a Debian problem. I view LinuxCNC as a subsystem, or module, installed on top of a Debian 9 OS, and other applications and network under the OS umbrella. Please tell me if this is incorrect.

Ultimately, this problem was caused by a Buster update being applied to Stretch updates from the source deb deb.debian.org/debian/ stretch main non-free contrib. The bad update is amd64-microcode. Who in the support schema controls this?

I would also like to know what the support schema is for network, and desktop applications.

Thank you in advance

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Aug 2022 23:24 #250172 by arvidb
The "support schema" is that people help out, in their spare time, when they can and feel like it. It's a pretty helpful community where many people try to help each other out.