New to writing G code

More
15 Mar 2017 01:45 #89643 by ArtJ
New to writing G code was created by ArtJ
So I just learned the G code basics and am writing some basic code. I am new to Linux and new to, well, everything. I am having trouble getting linuxcnc to load my program. My question is is there a particular format after the safe line that should be followed? And what format should I be saving documents in when I write code. I am writing in OfficeLibre. I keep getting bad character near line 2 message and a few others.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Mar 2017 05:00 - 15 Mar 2017 05:02 #89648 by kornphlake79
Replied by kornphlake79 on topic New to writing G code
It will help if you can post the first few lines of your code, it will be easier to spot what might be happening. For refrerence here are a few lines of a program I recently ran, it was created using autodesk fusion CAM with the included EMC2 post processor with a couple very minor modifications.
%
(FACE PLATE .125 EM)
(T2  D=0.125 CR=0. - ZMIN=-0.135 - FLAT END MILL)
G90 G94 G17 G91.1
G20
G53 G0 Z-0.1
(BORE HOLES)
M9
T2 M6
S8000 M3
G54
M9
G0 X1.3275 Y-0.8443
G43 Z0.6 H2
G0 Z0.08
G1 Z0.0125 F24.
G19 G2 Y-0.8567 Z0. J-0.0125 K0.
G1 Y-0.863
G17 G3 X1.34 Y-0.8755 I0.0125 J0.
Y-0.8045 Z-0.0197 I0. J0.0355