Using proximity sensors for automatic Homing

More
14 Mar 2013 19:19 #31400 by susam
Hi,

I am quite new to LinuxCNC. I couldn't find any other topic that answers the following:

Every time I launch a new config for a CNC mill, I have to home the axes again and again. A way around this will be kind of an automatic homing. I intend to integrate two proximity sensors at the home positions of X and Y axis.

Using these proximity sensors, can I achieve automatic homing? Can these proximity sensors act as both homing sensors and limit switches? If yes, please advice me on how to go about and achieve this.

Thanks

Regards

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Mar 2013 20:03 #31404 by cncbasher
Yes they can be used for both homing and limits , although it is usual to use switches for limits and proximity for homing
as the homing point is usualy inside of the limit .

however linuxcnc has provision to use limit switches also as homing

linuxcnc.org/docs/html/config/ini_homing.html

to use the switch for both limit and home , use net both-home-x etc for the appropriate switch

More
15 Mar 2013 15:04 - 15 Mar 2013 15:08 #31444 by Rick G
Sorry, duplicate post!
Last edit: 15 Mar 2013 15:08 by Rick G.

More
16 Mar 2013 16:22 #31491 by susam
Thank You.
After declaring the pins in custom _postgui.hal, don't we have to code it anywhere else to achieve automatic homing?
Further, if there is another post discussing the same, can you please post the link?

Regards

More
16 Mar 2013 19:14 #31498 by alan_3301
I dont think there it is fully automatic, you still have to click home all axes.
Also, I dont think you need to put anything in custom_postgui.hal for homing.

assuming your machine is called "main"
homing parameters are in main.ini
and the pins are connected in main.hal

here is an example from my main.hal (only one axis for simplicity)
as said earlier, replace home-x with both-home-x if you are using home and limit switch on same pin