G55/G54 user coords: NOT seeing things.

More
01 Aug 2016 13:26 - 18 Aug 2016 13:58 #78232 by clunc
EDIT: Actual evidence.
FW,L,IW.

I am not asking for help because I have not collected enough information. I'm reporting what I think I'm seeing in case someone else also thinks she's seen it and thinks she's going crazy, like I. I've hunted for AXIS bugs and updates, but found nothing related.

Newly entering the world of relative coordinate systems: I think I'm hearing footsteps, seeing spooks, chasing chimeras.

I'm an experienced hobbyist who has moved from a home-built to a commercial machine and have rassled through a host of new experiences, like hardware home switches. (For other neophytes: with "real" Home switches, pressing "Home" no longer defines the location of home, it sets the axis in motion to go find it, scary the first time.) I should add that previously I learned just enough G-code to do what I wanted, but that involved running 150 different projects.

LinuxCNC 2.7.5 [later updated to 2.7.6, and then 2.7.6-8-g60675cf]
Ubuntu 12.04 LTS
software stepping

Having the new machine finally responding, after changing out the 15-pin gameport approach for a parallel-port and LinuxCNC, I moved on to several days of trying to get my head around absolute machine coordinates G53 and the nine, relative, user coordinate systems, G54-G59.3.

I took the widely offered advice to use G54 to "shadow" G53 so that running the G54 command in the MDI displays G53's current coordinates. I use
G10 L2 P1 X0Y0Z0
to do this, or "Home All" (which moves the machine to G53 X0Y0Z0) and "touch off" G54 to X0Y0Z0.

[EDIT: I meant to clarify that I am using the "Touch Off" button, and not "Tool Touch Off."]

I dedicate G55 to my workpiece. I move to the top-center of it and touch off G55 to X0Y0Z0.