Can someone help me setting up my spindle pwm (and soft-start)?

More
22 Oct 2023 12:47 - 22 Oct 2023 12:56 #283499 by phew
Hi,

I am very new to LCNC and currently trying to figure out how to get my spindle to the correct RPM using a cheap china parport bob:

What I've got so far and this seems to be somewhat working, is what I copied from a stepconf-generated .hal file:
loadrt pwmgen output_type=1

addf pwmgen.make-pulses base-thread
addf pwmgen.update servo-thread

net spindle-cmd-rpm => pwmgen.0.value
net spindle-on <= spindle.0.on => pwmgen.0.enable
net spindle-pwm <= pwmgen.0.pwm
setp pwmgen.0.pwm-freq 8.0
setp pwmgen.0.scale 24000
setp pwmgen.0.offset -0.1
setp pwmgen.0.dither-pwm true
net spindle-cmd-rpm     <= spindle.0.speed-out
net spindle-cmd-rpm-abs <= spindle.0.speed-out-abs
net spindle-cmd-rps     <= spindle.0.speed-out-rps
net spindle-cmd-rps-abs <= spindle.0.speed-out-rps-abs
net spindle-at-speed    => spindle.0.at-speed
net spindle-pwm     => parport.0.pin-01-out
net spindle-on      => parport.0.pin-17-out

Do not mind if the values set in this config are odd, I am kinda lost on how to approach this so I played around with the values and checked the output voltage using a multimeter.

My spindle has 9000 rpm minimum and 24000 rpm maximum. I am planning on using a relay for spindle direction, meaning I would like to have 1% speed to to generate the voltage that is about 9000 rpm for my spindle and 100% to generate the voltage that is about 24000 rpm, but I have no idea how to achieve that.