Gear cutting with HAL function

More
25 Mar 2011 14:07 - 25 Mar 2011 14:15 #8067 by darty367
Hello everyone, I'm a beginner of emc2 and I don't know yet very well about HAL function but I would like learn how make a gear cutting function. I'm come here for find some help.

Of course, I already seen the video of Andy (hello andy) on youtube and I would like make the same thing

I precise that I'm a french user of emc2 and it's not easy for me to learn in english, but I'll try.

For information, currently I use the latest version of emc2.
I use 3 steppermotors in bipolar mode with 3 stepper drivers and a home made interface board for use the inputs / outputs on the // port. My interface board is simple, I use a chip buffer for protect step and dir pin, and I use uln2803 for protect the relay output.

ok so I have some questions, I make step by step and the more simple.

I would like begining to built an encoder for use with the spindle, I have at home some capacitive sensor and optical sensor I would like know if I can use this for test ? it's a very big sensor but if just for test.

Information about this sensors :
capacitive sensors
www.ifm.com/ifmus/web/dsfs!KI5082.html
and
one optoelectronic sensor (MA serie)
www.datasensor.co.uk/item-142.html

What I need to know for synchronise my spindle with a stepper motor by an encoder ?

Andy use 3 optical sensor and I would like know why use 3 sensor ?

Also, how I must determinate the resolution for the encoder ?

There exist a tutorial (with screenshot) for help me ?

Thank you
Last edit: 25 Mar 2011 14:15 by darty367.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Mar 2011 15:11 - 25 Mar 2011 15:11 #8070 by andypugh
darty367 wrote:

I would like begining to built an encoder for use with the spindle, I have at home some capacitive sensor and optical sensor I would like know if I can use this for test ? it's a very big sensor but if just for test.