8 Position Tool Turret (unreliable)

More
05 Jul 2020 16:35 #173675 by Hodge
Hello Team LinuCNC,

As a complete newbie, from reading the many great posts here on the forum I now have my EmcoTurn220P running well on LinuxCNC and love the software. So thank you all for the forum!!!

However, one area I've not been able to get 100% reliable is the tool changing turret.

It's currently operated using a ClassicLadder programme (emco.clp attached) which I inherited. The logic and theory work well. However, in practice the mechanical latching system has proven to be unreliable and led to a few dramatic crashes.

It is an 8 position turret driven by a 24vdc motor when 'CLoutB0' is engaged. There is an 'encoder' which has 4 optical sensors and a rotor that triggers the sensors as it rotates (the sensor logic can be seen on the Ladder_Screenshot.png attached). Once the turret has reached the correct position 'CLoutB0' is disengaged and the motor contactor reverses polarity on the dc motor to reverse the turret back onto a mechanical latch to lock.

The problem is that the distance the turret moves past the latch before the 'CLoutB0' reverses seems to vary very slightly leading to it occasionally missing the correct position and latching on the next tool. No check is made in the code so the Gcode continues.

So I would like help to achieve the following please:

1) add a timer delay variable in ClassicLadder between the sensor logic registering and 'CLoutB0' reversing so I can try and 'fine tune' the distance the turret moves passed the latching position before it reverses.

2) If the turret misses the correct position the sensors will no longer be giving the correct logic so can a check of the sensors be made in ClassicLadder so an alarm (or second tool change attempt is made) before the Gcode programme continues??

Descriptions of the symbols on the Ladder_Screenshot.png

CLinB1 - Encoder Sensor 1
CLinB2 - Encoder Sensor 2
CLinB3 - Encoder Sensor 3
CLinB4 - Encoder Sensor 4