[Help] New Project - Rebuild an Old CNC Machine

More
29 May 2013 08:38 #34889 by EngEC
Hi there! :cheer:
I am new to this world, so I apologize right now if I am not accurate with the questions. :silly:
I am in my final year of Electronic and Computer Systems Engineering, and my final project is to rebuild an old cnc machine.
The machine is an old Lathe (turning), so I have 3 stepper motors [2-phase Hibrid Stepper] (XZ and a tool-changer), a DC motor [3500RPM] (spindle) and an air compressed claw (that secures' the piece).

I have seen some stepper drivers, but cannot find a cheap and good driver to my DC motor, do anyone know where can I find some?

I have chose linuxcnc as my main controller because of their outstanding caracteristics, but I am new to this and I need some guidance. I've already installed the computer (I'm current waitting for the drivers), and I dont really know how the software works. Does the GUI change from milling to turning?

I've already read the manuals from tip to toe, but I haven't still done the amount of work necessary to know If I am in a good track. Can anyone help me?

I've attached a file with some photos if anyone wants to see.

Again I apologize if I am being incoherent with something I just wrote.

Thanks for every reply, and If anyone has a question, leave it here that I'll reply as soon as possible.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 May 2013 14:21 #34897 by cncbasher
Welcome to the world of Linuxcnc !
yes the gui will change from milling to turning , this is done in the configuration process , stepconf is the configuration setup program , which will help in at least getting started , after that you can hand edit the files as required once you learn a bit more .

we need to know a little bit more as it appears your pictures have not appeared as yet , what voltage and horsepower rating of the motor ?
what stepper drivers have you bought ?
what is the make and model of the Lathe ?