Home made encoder questions

More
04 Sep 2019 06:34 #144130 by Scot
Hello folks,

I'm prepping to make a custom encoder wheel for the lathe I'm retrofitting as an off-the-shelf part won't work. I've asked a bunch of questions and probably wrote way too much but learned volumes. Bear with me as I'm still learning.

I'm currently researching how to etch through 304 stainless. What I've found seems straight forward enough and I should be getting detailed info I need within a few days. But then the fun starts and I get to do some hands-on learning on how to etch this material and keep tolerances. The processes aren't over the top. But I have some detail info needs. The encoder wheel design is what I really need to know before I start. Once I get the basic design down, the details seem pretty simple.

What I don't really understand yet is the layout of the slits on the wheel. I understand the requirement for this application is a quadrature encoder with index. A typical non-quadrature encoder has radial slits evenly spaced with the same width material left over after the etch as the slits created in the wheel. That I understand. A quadrature encoder has the slits that 'jog" so the pulses generated can be read in quadrature half way offset and look like this, right?:

cdn.thingiverse.com/renders/41/9c/b8/b7/...preview_featured.jpg

The index is what I'm curious about. From what I've read, the index is a single pulse point on the wheel so the reader can make one pulse per revolution to identify the position and direction quickly and easily.

On that photo, is the index the line closer to the center?