What’s the standard for WCS and offsets?

More
10 Jun 2022 23:30 - 10 Jun 2022 23:35 #244920 by Eyecon
I’m completely new to CNC turning and I just got done with my Chinese 7x14 lathe conversion.
I was reading about the procedure for tool touch off on the LinuxCNC lathe page and I realized I have no idea how to setup my tools or WCS. I also watched a couple of videos about setting tool offsets on HAAS lathes and got even more confused :)

Using the touch off methods described on the lathe page, is the standard to set the X on all WCS to zero(e.gG54 X zero = machine X zero) and rely on the tool offsets with G43 so that the offset X position in the current WCS is always spindle center while the Z tool offset is set relative to some reference tool? I guess this way I would only need to set the Z zero for the current WCS by touching off on the part’s face using the reference tool? Obviously this wouldn’t apply to boring bars and tools oriented parallel to the spindle.

what confused me watching the HAAS videos is that their tool table appears to store offsets in machine coordinate systems after doing a “measure radius/diameter” which seems to subtract the current machine coordinates from the test part radius/diameter. Linuxcnc seems to store arbitrary or absolute offsets with no reference to any WCS….at least that’s how I have it setup on my router. 

Last edit: 10 Jun 2022 23:35 by Eyecon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jun 2022 12:47 #245113 by andypugh
What is commonly done on a lathe is to store tool offsets relative to a "master tool" and then arrange the WCS (G54 for example) to be set such that the end of the part is Z = 0 and the spindle centreline is X = 0. This means that X is sort-of absolute, but that Z is changed frequently (ie, for each part)

It would be possible to keep zero in the G54 X axis and do all diameter comp in the tool table. That might be slightly harder to mess up by touching-off in the wrong way. [1]