Building servo drivers and more into mesa cards

More
23 Aug 2012 02:24 #23563 by TheWylieStCoyote
Hello, all

This is my first post on the LinuxCNC form, so please go easy. I am a Electrical engineering student so i am not a total noob to electronics. I have been working with embedded systems for the passed 5 years or so, same for programming, and I have some experience with FPGA and other programmable logic.

Is it possible, reasonable, useful, or piratical to build things like DC or AC servo drivers or other into the FPGA. There is more then enough room, there is 1.5 million gates on the 5I22 card so there is not shortage of space. On the 5I22 card page they talk "4 or 8 channel micro-controller based servo motor controller (DSP built into FPGA)". Does this work with a servo drive or is this interface with a half-bridge for each phase of the motor? If the later Then would it a possibly to build a VFD for the main motor of lets a mill or a lathe? I am referring to the digital control circuity for a servo drive or VFD, and not the power circuity or analog signal side of things.

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Aug 2012 07:37 #23569 by andypugh
Wyliest wrote:

Does this work with a servo drive or is this interface with a half-bridge for each phase of the motor? If the later Then would it a possibly to build a VFD for the main motor of lets a mill or a lathe

It is nearly possible. I have even tried it.
The three-phase PWM module in some bitfiles creates the 6 required signals to drive an 3-phase H bridge.
You can then use the "bldc" HAL component without any feedback to calculate the phase amplitudes.
You will have noticed that not all of this is in the FPGA.

The problem is that such a system is voltage-mode not current-mode, as there is no curent feedback into HAL.